Click here to view short clips of some of the winner announcements from the 2018 SAE ATOM Awards Student Awards Presentation.


MEDIA RELEASE: Wednesday 14 November 2018


Earlier today, at the Student Awards Presentation, the first round of winners from the 2018 SAE ATOM Awards were announced at SAE Creative Media Institute in Melbourne.

The award presentation was hosted by actor Sonya Suares, and was followed by a screening of all the winning productions on the big screen.

The student winners of the 2018 SAE ATOM Awards are:

Best Primary School Animation
That One Curious Apartment, Years 4–6, Doveton College, Vic.

Best Primary School Film Production
Chocolypse!, Stage 3, Glenwood Public School, NSW

Best Middle School (Years 7–10) Animation
Giba, Joziah, Angel, Jecoliah and Assad, Doveton College, Vic.

Best Middle School (Years 7–10) Film Production
In the Midst of a Judgement Storm, Kellyville High School Media Team, Kellyville High School, NSW

Best Senior Secondary Animation
Notes from the Underground, William Fairley, Scotch College, Vic.

Best Senior Secondary Documentary
Rob, Patrick Butcher, Scotch College, Vic.

Best Senior Secondary Fiction
The Unspoken Rule, Con Coutis, Scotch College, Vic.

Best Senior Secondary Music Video
SLEEP, Lillianne Lord, Melbourne Girls’ College, Vic.

The ATOM Awards are dedicated to recognising film and media excellence in the education sector and the screen industry, and have been held annually for over thirty-five years.

The ATOM Photo Comp 2018

ATOM, in conjunction with Ted’s Cameras, also announced the winners of the student categories of the ATOM Photo Comp 2018 at this event.

The ATOM Photo Comp provides Australian and New Zealand photographers with the opportunity to submit a set of three photographs adhering to a theme, with an accompanying written statement. This year’s theme is ‘This Makes Me Happy’. Prizes for winners of each category include Ted’s Cameras gift vouchers worth up to $2000.

And the winners are:

Lower Primary (Years F–3) category
Adventure on the High Sea, Phoenix McArthur, Qld

Upper Primary (Years 4–6) category
My Brothers, Alexi Prosper, WA

Lower Secondary (Years 7–9) category
Our Place Among the Stars, Austin Turpin, NSW

Upper Secondary (Years 10–12) category
Bittersweet Moments, Meg Godfrey, Vic.

The 1-Minute Film Competition 2018

ATOM also announced the winners of the 1-Minute Film Competition 2018 at this event.

The 1-Minute Film Competition provides Australian and New Zealand school students with the opportunity to make a 60-second short film or animation, and win fantastic prizes in the process – including four $500 cash prizes. This year’s theme was ‘Memory’.

And the winners are:

Lower Primary (Years F–3)
Memory Lane, Max Parry, NSW

Upper Primary (Years 4–6)
Memory, Jack Gannon, NSW

Lower Secondary (Years 7–9)
Password…, Bailey Lock and Myles McEwe, SA

Upper Secondary (Years 10–12)
Memory Palace, Austin Macfarlane, Qld

Front Page 2018

Finally, ATOM – in conjunction with Fairfax Media – announced the winners of Front Page 2018.

Front Page is a new competition that provides Australian schools and classes with the opportunity to create a short digital school newspaper. Three category prizes each include six Apple iPads (total combined prize value of over $8400), a tour of a newsroom (either The Age or The Sydney Morning Herald), and a write-up and photo published in The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald.

And the winners are:

Upper Primary (Years 4–6)
The Telopean, Year 6, Telopea Park School, ACT

Lower Secondary (Years 7–9)
The Navigator, Santa Sabina College Writers’ Club, Santa Sabina College, NSW

Upper Secondary (Years 10–12)
The Frankstonial Times, Year 10 Journalism Students, Frankston High School, Vic.

ATOM would like to congratulate all the winners on their success, and thank everyone who participated – including all entrants, judges, partners, volunteers and staff.

To see photos from the event, visit us on Facebook or Instagram.

For more information about the 2018 SAE ATOM Awards, or to stream a selection of the finalists’ productions online (including all the primary and secondary school finalists), visit atomawards.org.

For more information about the ATOM Photo Comp 2018, or to view all the finalists’ entries online, please visit atomphotocomp.org.

For more information about the 1-Minute Film Competition 2018, or to stream the finalists’ short films online, visit 1-minutefilmcompetition.org.

For more information about Front Page 2018, or to view the finalists’ digital school newspapers, visit frontpage.online.

The winners in the Tertiary and General/Open categories of the ATOM Awards will be announced at the Tertiary & Industry Awards Night on Thursday 29 November in Melbourne. Click here for more information or to book tickets.