2017 SAE ATOM Awards Tertiary & Industry Awards Night


MEDIA RELEASE: Friday 1 December 2017


Last night, at the Tertiary & Industry Awards Night, the second and final round of winners from the 2017 SAE ATOM Awards were announced at LUX Melbourne.

The event was hosted by the urbane Brian Nankervis from RocKwiz and was attended by education and screen industry professionals, higher education students, screen funding body representatives and our partners.

The winners of the tertiary and general/open categories in the
2017 SAE ATOM Awards are:

Best Tertiary Animation
Twin Beaks, William Robson, Queensland University of Technology

Best Tertiary Documentary
Wolfe, Claire Randall, Griffith University

Best Tertiary Experimental
Nest, Rex Kane-Hart,
School of Film and Television, Faculty of VCAMCM, The University of Melbourne

Best Tertiary Short Fiction
Il Ritorno (The Return), Alexander Giblin, Sydney Film School

Best Educational App or Ebook
STEM Explorer, Cogniss and apptEDUde

Best Educational Game
Kids Together Now, Priscilla Brice, All Together Now

Best Educational/Training Video or Website (Primary/Secondary)
Behind the News – Episode 24, Nathan Bazley, Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Best Instructional/Training Video or Website (Tertiary/General)
Stories from the Field, William Head and Philippa Campey, Film Camp

Best Indigenous Video or Website
Zach’s Ceremony, Aaron Petersen, Wangala Films Pty Ltd

Best Animation
Habits, Kathy Sarpi,
School of Film and Television, Faculty of VCAMCM, The University of Melbourne

Best Experimental
Long Yearning, Elliot Spencer, Autonomous Productions

Best Music Video
The Sisters of Invention, Katrina Lucas, Budaya Productions

Best Screen Commercial
On Your Bike, Rollingball Productions on behalf of the City of Newcastle

Best Web Series
Pop-Ability, Katrina Lucas, Budaya Productions

Best Children’s Television Program
Little J & Big Cuz, Tony Thorne and Ned Lander,
Old Dog Pictures Pty Ltd and Ned Lander Media Pty Ltd

Best Short Fiction (50 minutes or less)
Mother, Child, Tin Pang, THREECOIN Pictures

Best Fiction Feature Film
Hounds of Love, Melissa Kelly and Ben Young, Factor 30 Films

Best Factual Television Series
Streets of Your Town, Dan Goldberg and Adam Kay, Mint Pictures

Best Documentary – Arts
ONE SHOT: An Image and an Attitude, Darren McCagh, Farmhouse Films

Best Documentary – Biography
Jill Bilcock: The Art of Film Editing, Axel Grigor, Faramarz K-Rahber and Sue Maslin

Best Documentary – History
Zach’s Ceremony, Aaron Petersen, Wangala Films Pty Ltd

Best Documentary – Science, Technology & the Environment
Tales by Light – Season 2, Abraham Joffe, Untitled Film Works

Best Documentary – Social & Political Issues
In the Shadow of the Hill, Dan Jackson

Best Documentary – Short Form (30 minutes or less)
Roots, Rock, Arapiles, Kelsey McGowan, RMIT University

Best Documentary – General
Conviction, Terry Carlyon and Robyn Miller, DD & B Productions Pty Ltd

The ATOM Awards have been held annually for thirty-five years, and are dedicated to recognising film and media excellence in the education sector and the screen industry. This year, we received over 550 entries from Australian and New Zealand media producers across twenty-eight categories.

The ATOM Photo Comp 2017

ATOM also announced a winner of the ATOM Photo Comp 2017 at this event.

The ATOM Photo Comp provides Australian and New–Zealand photographers with the opportunity to submit a set of three photographs adhering to a theme, with an accompanying written statement, and win fantastic prizes in the process. This year’s theme was ‘My Backyard’. Prizes for winners of each category include a Canon EOS 700D camera (RRP: $1029), generously donated by Ted’s Cameras. We received nearly 700 entries from Australian and New Zealand photographers.

The winner of the Open category is:
Found or Noticed in My Family’s Backyard, Geoff Jackson, Vic.

ATOM would like to congratulate all last night’s winners on their success and thank everyone who participated, including all entrants, judges, partners, volunteers and staff.

To see photos from the evening, visit us on Facebook and Instagram.

Entries for the 2018 SAE ATOM Awards are now open. To enter, visit atomawards.org.

For more information about the 2017 SAE ATOM Awards, or to stream a selection of the finalists’ productions online (including all the primary and secondary school finalists), visit atomawards.org.