2017 SAE ATOM Awards Student Awards Evening


Click here to view short clips of some of the winner announcements from the 2017 SAE ATOM Awards Student Awards Presentation.


MEDIA RELEASE: Wednesday 25 October 2017


Earlier today, at the Student Awards Presentation, the first round of winners from the 2017 SAE ATOM Awards were announced at SAE Creative Media Institute in Melbourne.

The award presentation was hosted by TV presenter Walt Collins, and was followed by a screening of all the winning productions on the big screen.

The student winners of the 2017 SAE ATOM Awards are:

Best Primary School Animation
Grandma’s Gift, Kinae Edwards, Chloe French, Amity Hutton and Lily Lacey,
Table Cape Primary School, Tas.

Best Primary School Film Production
The Genie, Class 4L, Cabramatta Public School, NSW

Best Middle School (Years 7–10) Animation
Sina and the Eel, Grade 3, Doveton College, Vic.

Best Middle School (Years 7–10) Film Production
King Jack, Media Team, Kellyville High School, NSW

Best Senior Secondary Animation
School, but with a Ghoul, Rory Dalitz, All Saints’ College, WA

Best Senior Secondary Documentary
Pants on Fire, Daniel Bil, Huntingtower, Vic.

Best Senior Secondary Fiction
A Perfect Child, William Burns, Christ’s College, NZ

Best Student Game
The Attack of the Pizza Monster, Kristian Ambrose, Loyola College, Vic.

The ATOM Awards are dedicated to recognising film and media excellence in the education sector and the screen industry. This year, the ATOM Awards are celebrating their thirty-fifth anniversary, and we received over 550 entries from Australian and New Zealand media producers.

The ATOM Photo Comp 2017

ATOM also announced the winners of the student categories of the ATOM Photo Comp 2017 at this event.

The ATOM Photo Comp provides Australian and New Zealand photographers with the opportunity to submit a set of three photographs adhering to a theme, with an accompanying written statement, and win fantastic prizes in the process. This year’s theme is ‘My Backyard’. Prizes for winners of each category include a Canon EOS 700D camera (RRP: $1029), generously donated by Ted’s Cameras. We received nearly 700 entries from Australian and New Zealand photographers.

And the winners are:

Lower Primary (Years F–3) category
Wild Things, Will Holden, NSW

Upper Primary (Years 4–6) category
It’s the Simple Things that Make Life Awesome!, Tom Withers, WA

Lower Secondary (Years 7–9) category
The Overlooked Beauty, Phoebe Davis, Tas.

Upper Secondary (Years 10–12) category
The Natural Spectacles of Our Backyard, Krishna Doshi, Qld

The 1-Minute Film Competition 2017

ATOM, in conjunction with the ClickView, also announced the winners of the 1-Minute Film Competition 2017 at this event.

The 1-Minute Film Competition provides Australian and New Zealand school students with the opportunity to make a 60-second short film or animation, and win fantastic prizes in the process – including four $500 cash prizes. This year’s theme was ‘Tomorrow’ and we received over 700 entries.

And the winners are:

Lower Primary (Years F–3)
Tomorrow I Will, Class 3S, Cabramatta Public School, NSW

Upper Primary (Years 4–6)
Not Today, Amy, Maeve, Ruby, Angus, Sarah, Vinnie and Monique,
Yarraville West Primary School, Vic.

Lower Secondary (Years 7–9)
Past | Present | Future, Martin Phan and Connor Hamilton, WA

Upper Secondary (Years 10–12)
We Are the Future, Callum Meney, NSW

ATOM would like to congratulate all the winners on their success and thank everyone who participated, including all entrants, judges, partners, volunteers and staff.

To see photos from the evening, visit us on Facebook or Instagram.

For more information about the 2017 SAE ATOM Awards, or to stream a selection of the finalists’ productions online (including all the primary and secondary school finalists), visit atomawards.org.

For more information about the ATOM Photo Comp 2017, or to view the winning entries online, please visit atomphotocomp.org.

For more information about the 1-Minute Film Competition 2017, or to stream all the finalists’ short films online, visit 1-minutefilmcompetition.org.

The winners in the Tertiary and General/Open categories of the ATOM Awards will be announced at the Tertiary & Industry Awards Night on Thursday 30 November in Melbourne. Click here for more information or to book tickets.