2015 ATOM Awards Tertiary & Industry Awards Night winners


MEDIA RELEASE: Friday 27 November 2015


Last night, at the Tertiary & Industry Awards Night, the second and final round of winners from the 2015 ATOM Awards were announced at Lux Melbourne.

The event was hosted by the always-entertaining Brian Nankervis from RocKwiz and was attended by education and screen industry professionals, higher education students, screen funding body representatives and sponsors.

The winners of the tertiary and general/open categories in the
2015 ATOM Awards are:

Best Tertiary Documentary
The Flight of the Buffalo, Brodie Poole, Queensland University of Technology

Best Tertiary Short Fiction
The Summer of ABC Burns, Dannika Horvat and Stephanie Westwood,
Swinburne University of Technology

Best Educational/Training Resource (Primary/Secondary)
The Lost Tools of Henry Hoke, JDR Screen

Best Instructional/Training Resource (Tertiary/General)
PCYC NSW Traffic Offenders Intervention Program,
Gavin Banks and Olivia Olley, Good Eye Deer

Best Indigenous Resource
Prison Songs, Kelrick Martin, Spear Point Productions and Beyond West

Best Game / Multimedia Production
Cronulla Riots: The Day That Shocked The Nation, Northern Pictures

Best Short Fiction (50 minutes or less)
Karroyul, Kelrick Martin, Spear Point Productions

Best Experimental
Digital Aura, Naohiro Hayakawa, Monash University

Best Animation
The Orchestra, Mikey Hill, Feather Films

Best Music Video
Colourblind, Samuel Lewis, Oh Yeah Wow

Best Children’s Television Program
Mako – Island of Secrets – Season 2, Jonathan M Shiff Productions

Best Factual Television Series
Uranium – Twisting the Dragon’s Tail, Sonya Pemberton, Genepool Productions

Best Documentary – Short Form (30 minutes or less)
Helen Garner’s Monkey Grip, Fiona Tuomy and Liz Burke, Liz Burke Media

Best Documentary – General
Gayby Baby, Maya Newell and Charlotte Mars, Marla House

Best Documentary – History
Uranium – Twisting the Dragon’s Tail, Sonya Pemberton, Genepool Productions

Best Documentary – Social & Political Issues
The Redfern Story, Darlene Johnson, Samson Productions

Best Documentary – Science, Technology & the Environment
Uranium – Twisting the Dragon’s Tail, Sonya Pemberton, Genepool Productions

Best Documentary – Biography
Remembering the Man, Nickolas Bird and Eleanor Sharpe, Waterbyrd Filmz

Best Documentary – Arts
Women He’s Undressed, Damien Parer and Gillian Armstrong, Damien Parer Productions

Best Docudrama
The War That Changed Us, Andrew Ogilvie, Electric Pictures

The ATOM Awards have been held annually for over thirty years, and are dedicated to recognising film and media excellence in the education and screen industry sectors. This year, we received over 500 entries from Australian and New Zealand media producers across twenty-eight categories.

ATOM would like to congratulate all the winners on their success and thank everyone who participated, including all entrants, judges, sponsors, volunteers and staff.

To see photos from the evening, visit us on Facebook and Instagram.

Entries for the 2016 ATOM Awards are now open. To enter, visit atomawards.org.

For more information about the 2015 ATOM Awards, or to stream a selection of the finalists’ productions online (including all the primary and secondary school finalists), visit atomawards.org.